Payment Options

Who Pays Taxes

To see if you need to pay taxes, check your agreement of sale document. The lawyers usually make adjustment for the taxes in the sale agreement and this document should indicate who is responsible for the taxes.

Payment Methods

There are many different ways that you can pay your property taxes and utilities in the County of Stettler. We accept payments by cash, cheque, debit card, online banking, or at most major financial institutions. If you are paying your taxes or utilities online, please ensure that you are paying them to the County of Stettler No. 6.

Online or Telebanking Payments

The following are banks that accept online or telebanking payments:
  • Alberta Treasury Branch
  • Bank of Montreal
  • Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (CIBC)
  • Credit Union's
  • Royal Bank of Canada (RBC)
  • Scotiabank
  • Toronto-Dominion (TD) Canada Trust
If your bank is not listed, please check with your bank and then contact the county office to get it set up. 

We accept utility payments and taxes under our account. Please ensure that you are paying your taxes with your roll number or owner number and utilities with your customer number. Also, please ensure that you are making the payment to the County of Stettler No. 6 as there are times that they are paid to the incorrect vendor.

Tax Autopay Program

If you wish to sign up for the autopay program your taxes have to be paid up to date. The withdrawals will start in January to December. 


The first six months payments will be based on 2019 tax levy then once the 2020 levy is set, the remaining payments will be split over the next six months.