Stettler Regional Recreation Board

The County of Stettler Regional Recreation Board was established in 1974, by a group of concerned citizens who wanted to develop a coordinated effort to the development of recreation programs and facilities within the County of Stettler. The Board has the authority to elect their own officers, arrange their own schedule of meetings and is required to prepare and annually submit a budget to County Council in November.

Making up the Regional Recreation Board are the nine member districts, each of which have an appointed representative who sits on the Board. The nine electoral divisions are the Big Valley Agricultural Society, Botha Community Centre, Donalda and District Agricultural Society, Endmoor Culture and Recreation, Erskine Recreation Society, Fee/Union/Ewing, Linda Hall Society, Red Willow Agricultural Society, and the Westwoods Agricultural Society. There is also a representative of the Stettler and District Ag Society. The County of Stettler No. 6 always has at least one County Councillor appointed to the Stettler Recreation Board and neighboring communities; Big Valley, Donalda and Rochon Sands all have a representative on the Board. As a part of membership, the villages pay an annual recreation requisition to the Regional Recreation Board for service.  

Public representation on the board must remain the majority at all times.

The Regional Recreation Board meets four times annually and assists in the coordination of events all over the County of Stettler. Two of the main programs that the Recreation Board oversees are: